Call for Nominations to Honour African Individuals and Institutions for the Tana @10 Awards

4 August, 2022

The Tana High-Level Forum on Security in Africa is an annual Forum that brings together African leaders and stakeholders to engage and explore African-led security solutions. The Forum offers space for panel discussions and bilateral talks to share views and experiences in a time-efficient, results-oriented, and open manner. The Forum is an initiative that is a response to the August 2009 African Union Tripoli Declaration. In the African Union‘s Declaration on the Elimination of Conflicts and the Promotion of Sustainable Peace in Africa (Tripoli Declaration, August 2009), African Heads of State and Governments designated peace and security as a collective “intellectual challenge” and called for the elaboration of “African-led solutions” to take it on. The Tana Forum is organised by the Institute for Peace and Security Studies (IPSS) of Addis Ababa University in response to this call. This year’s Tana Forum is scheduled for 14 – 16 October 2022, in Bahir Dar, Ethiopia, under the theme “Managing Security Threats: Building Resilience for the Africa We Want”. The Forum will utilise a hybrid format – face-to-face interaction and virtual platform.


This year (2022) marks the 10th Anniversary of the Tana High-Level Forum on Security in Africa, the flagship annual event that engages in deep reflections to find Africa-led solutions to the continent’s myriad peace and security challenges. It coincides with a unique moment in Africa and the world primarily due to the fragilities imposed by the unforeseen outbreak and spread of the COVID-19 pandemic and state measures to curb it. While old fault lines remain, new ones are producing tensions and threats that are converging within- rather than outside- states in a way that is exposing the underbelly of fractured state-society   relations.


As Tana Forum is celebrating its 10th anniversary, the secretariat would like to recognise and honour 10 African individuals and institutions that have made remarkable contributions to the continent in diverse categories such as peace, security, youth, bridging gender gaps, private sector, academia, third sector, religious leaders, media, the arts (culture, heritage, music, visual arts etc.), health and environmental securities.

Criteria for Nominations

For individuals:

  • The impact of the nominee’s work or contribution in improving the understanding and respect for human rights the advancement of peace, security, health for all and sustainable development;
  • The impact of the nominee’s work or contribution in eliminating social injustice as well as discriminatory attitudes and practices for those impacted by conflict and war;
  • The amount of time and resources spent by the nominee in carrying his/ her work;
  • The risk or negative consequences faced by the nominee in the course of his/her work;
  • The impact of the nominee’s work in inspiring young and upcoming generation;
  • The extent for scalability of the work/method to a national or continental level;
  • There should be evidence for success, and the impact should be visible and measurable. This can be/should collaborated through testimonials of beneficiaries, for example.

For Institutions:

  • The impact of the institutions work in promoting better understanding on human rights, peace, security, security, health and development;
  • The impact of the institution’s work in creating an enabling environment conducive to the enjoyment of basic rights and development;
  • The extent to which the approach employed in the work of the institutions has used advanced technology and innovation to bring change and to overcome unprecedented global challenges;
  • The contribution to major policy change that has impacted or has the potential to impact on national/continental level;
  • A significant stride in terms of raising awareness or advocacy work in peace, security, health, development and a recognised contribution to communal/national/continental work;
  • Significant contribution to the progress and building of democracy and democratic institutions as well as resilience to advance democratic principles;
  • Significant work to strengthen local networks across the continent to create impact, advocacy /impact through mobilisation of individual networks and channelling of common voices for change;
  • Self-nomination is not allowed. Both institutions and individuals should be nominated by a peer or colleague who speaks for their work according to the criteria
  • 10 Awards will be given to individuals/institutions – one for each of the 10 identified themes; youth, women, private sector, health, academia, third sector, religious leaders, media, The Arts (music, visual arts etc.), and environmental
  • Nominations received after the deadline will not be
How to nominate

To nominate: Apply here

The nominator should carefully consider the nomination criteria set.


All nominations should be submitted on or before 15 September 2022.